My PIDP Journey in Review

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 11.54.34 AM

Photo: A. McKenzie

The 3260 Professional Practice course marks my 5th course in my PIDP journey. At the risk of sounding clichéd I will state that the program has been nothing short of transformational for me.

3250 Instructional Strategies

My first course felt like plunging off a cliff. It was exciting, overwhelming, frustrating and rewarding. I spent the first part of the course getting my head around all of the unfamiliar educational terms and theories while trying my very best not to sound completely clued out on the discussion forums. Setting up my blog was a huge learning curve but gave me a lot of insight into how technology can be used to encourage higher order thinking. The pinnacle of learning for me, the peak learning in all of the mountain of strategies, theories and concepts that I chewed through and pondered, was how truly powerful self-reflection in learning is. I have since incorporated self-reflection into the workshops and courses I teach as a way to increase metacognitive thinking.

3210 Curriculum Development and 3230 Evaluation of Learning

I did these together as part of a face-to-face and online hybrid course at Selkirk College. These courses had me super pumped! I really love doing curriculum development! I was blown away how, when I kept the principles of course alignment in mind, all of the assessments, content and learning activities came together like magic. Now I understand that with proper course alignment, the course will feel rich and satisfying and without it, it will feel disjointed and haphazard. Having well thought out and defined learning outcomes is the DNA of curriculum development.

I also learned about the power of feedback for learning. I have set up weekly assignments in the online course I teach with feedback provided for each assignment (in addition to the rubric) so that students are given lots of opportunity to adjust and reflect on their learning. Learning about test validity made me seriously question the quizzes that I am required to give to the students for one of the mandated workshops I teach for the health authority. Excited by my readings about gamification I followed up on my plan and gamified the quizzes. Students loved it! There was lots of great discussions about the content covered in the course and the collaborative learning was highly valued by the students (as per the feedback instrument). The only problem was that the folks that oversee the course were not impressed with me. They felt that quizzes were the only way to truly assess knowledge. I think I may invite them to join in on one of my next workshops :).

3100 Foundations of Adult Education

In retrospect I wish I would have done this course first as it really does lay the foundation of the concepts and principles of adult learning, but as it was, it gave me an opportunity to deepen my learning and take on concepts like social constructivism with more understanding than if I had only learned about it for the first time. This course helped me to nail down the educational concepts I need to be able to continue to build my practice as an educator.

3260 Professional Practice

This brings me to my 5th course – this one! I have really enjoyed this course so far as it has brought home to me the importance of feedback and strengthened my enthusiasm for self-reflection as an educator. Reading the Skillful Teacher by Stephen Brookfield and reflecting on the concepts in the book has provided me insight into not only how I can be a better teacher but how students can perceive teacher behaviours. I have already included the Classroom Critical Incident Questionnaire into my fall workshops. I am looking forward to what I will discover! Developing the competency model in the face-to-face workshop and having that to draw on as an educator is an important part of ensuring I stay on track.

Well, that is a summary of the journey so far. Thank you so much to my instructors and fellow colleagues who have inspired, challenged and encouraged me along this wonderful journey.

Leave a Reply

